Achieving Treasury Vision 2010 at Bucher Industries

Bucher Industries AG

Bucher Industries AG

Branch
Mechanical and vehicle engineering
Employees
11,200 employees globally

Abstract

In 2007 Bucher developed its Treasury Vision, aiming to create a highly-automated operation including selecting and implementing a new TMS to replace its current combination of automated and manual processes. After consideration of various systems IT2 was selected as the new TMS and was implemented on a modular basis – first cash management, then accounting. The article describes the various challenges met along the way to straightthrough processing and the successful outcome with gains not only to the back office but elsewhere in the company.

Products, Solutions & Services

• Fides Multibanking Suite
• Hybrid Service Bureau
• Reporting
• TMS Connection

About Bucher Industries

Founded in 1807, Bucher Industries (‘Bucher’) has grown from a blacksmith’s shop to a global mechanical and vehicle engineering corporation. Today, Bucher manufactures state-of-the-art machinery and vehicles in production facilities located around the world. The company is headquartered in Switzerland and listed on the SWX Swiss Exchange. In 2009, Bucher generated CHF 2,1 bn in sales with around 7200 employees.

Introduction

Before implementing a new treasury management system (TMS) Bucher had a combination of automated and manual processes for conducting treasury-related activities and for integrating transaction information into the corporate accounting system. We also had disparate systems and reports that formed the basis of our daily cash position on which dealing decisions are made. These needed to be reconciled manually and repeatedly, which was labour-intensive and intensive and prone to error, which in turn compromised our dealing decisions.

I had worked for Elopak previously, where we had implemented a Achieving Treasury Vision 2010 at Bucher Industries new TMS very successfully, so we were seeking to achieve the same degree of efficiency and automation at Bucher. In 2007, therefore we developed our Treasury Vision 2010, which aimed to create a highly automated, efficient operation, including selecting and implementing a new TMS. Our objectives were twofold:

• Firstly, to achieve full straight-through-processing for cash management

• Secondly, to automate the creation of accounting entries for treasury transactions (such as FX deals, sweeps, loans, deposit, interest, bank charges, FX gains/ losses etc.) with an interface to our general ledger system (Abacus) so that we could rely on up-to-date information at all times.

 

Implementing on Treasury Vision

Having gained internal approval and support for the project, we selected IT2 as our TMS, having considered two other alternatives. We found that the system was cost-effective and a key benefit was that we were able to implement on a modular basis, implementing cash management first and then moving on to accounting. The implementation was completed successfully, but there were challenges.

The balance sheet, P&L and posting rules were set up based on the existing ledger, however, we needed to redesign it to some extent, as we were not able to access the level of details we required. We went through a process of documenting the posting rules for all transactions, which proved helpful both for setting up the TMS, and for audit purposes. Once the posting rules had been defined and set up in the system, we started testing. After a few months, we started to build the interface, which took longer than expected to agree and implement the relevant file format. Having finalised this, we tested the system and interface for a further month and went live on 1 January 2009.

Project Outcomes

The amount of manual processing reduced dramatically as a result of implementing a new system, although initially it took some time for users to become familiar with the TMS and its capabilities. All treasuryrelated transactions are booked automatically in IT2’s accounting module based on the information received from the bank using MT940 messages through Fides, and on the projected items held within the system using daily market rates. Entries are transferred to Abacus on a daily basis. Consequently, we now have the confidence that our accounting system is up to date and we are able to perform our month-end close
on the second day after month end, or sooner. We can also drill down into individual entries, enabling full visibility over data.

With an annual volume of around 15,000 transactions that are transferred from our TMS to our accounting system, the efficiencies gained as a result of achieving 100% straight-through processing are substantial.

From a cash management perspective, we have also gained considerable improvements in our processes and the quality of data. Bank balances between IT2’s accounting module are reconciled with those of the cash management module and with the bank statements received by email from the bank, so we have a high degree of data integrity.

Our straight-through processing gains are not limited to the back office. In addition to interfaces to Fides for bank account information, and to our accounting system for transferring accounting entries, we have also implemented an interface to automated dealing portal 360T for deals transacted in the market, and with Misys for confirmation matching.

As a result of this major project, we have achieved our Treasury Vision 2010 goals, and implemented a worldclass treasury management infrastructure that meets our needs today, and will continue to do so as these evolve in the future.

Mauro d'Ambros - Treasurer, Bucher Industries

Mauro d’Ambros has been Treasurer of Bucher Industries AG since 2007. Previously he was Assistant Treasurer of Elopak from 2001-2005, and then Assistant Manager Treasury and Risk Management at PricewaterhouseCoopers. He has a diploma in business administration and a Certificate of Advanced Studies Swiss Certified Treasurer.

About Fides

Fides is the world leader in multibank connectivity, payments and transaction communications. A market leader for more than a century, Fides is committed to making financial operations as efficient, transparent and secure as possible for all organizations. More than 3,500 clients rely on Fides for efficient cash and liquidity management, through connectivity to more than 13,000 banks and comprehensive workflow, reporting, conversion, validation and security services. Whether you access via the secure Fides Multibanking Suite or leverage our seamless integration with third-party ERP, TMS and other backend systems, Fides is the only platform you need.

Questions about this success story?

Contact us

Telephone
Email
aGVsbG9AZmlkZXMuY2g=
Read the full article
Please enter your e-mail addresses to view the entire article. After confirmation, the content will be released immediately.
By submitting you accept our privacy policy.
Tip: If you have activated cookies, you can access further content without having to enter your e-mail address again.
Questions about this article?
Contact us now
Telephone
Email
aGVsbG9AZmlkZXMuY2g=

Our quarterly newsletter informs you about everything that makes treasury more efficient. Subscribe now and stay up to date.

Read the full article
Please enter your e-mail addresses to view the entire article. After confirmation, the content will be released immediately.
By submitting you accept our privacy policy.
Tip: If you have activated cookies, you can access further content without having to enter your e-mail address again.
Questions about this article?
Contact us now
Telephone
Email
aGVsbG9AZmlkZXMuY2g=

Die Treasury-Vision erfolgreich umgesetzt.

Bucher Industries

Fides hat im Rahmen der Bucher Treasury-Vision für die Automatisierung der Treasury-Prozesse und für ein Höchstmass an Effizienz gesorgt.

Bucher Industries AG

Branche
Maschinenbau und Fahrzeugtechnik
Mitarbeiter
11'200 weltweit

Ausgangslage

2007 erarbeitete Bucher seine Treasury-Vision, die auf eine hoch automatisierte Abwicklung abzielte. Dies umfasste auch die Auswahl und Einführung eines neuen TMS, um die vom Unternehmen damals eingesetzte Kombination aus automatisierten und manuellen Prozessen zu ersetzen. Nach Berücksichtigung verschiedener Systeme fiel die Entscheidung auf IT2 als neues TMS, das auf modularer Basis eingeführt wurde – zunächst für das Cash Management, dann für das Rechnungswesen. Der Artikel beschreibt die zahlreichen Herausforderungen, die mit der Implementierung der direkten Datenverarbeitung einhergingen, und das erfolgreiche Ergebnis, das sich nicht nur für das Back-Office, sondern für das gesamte Unternehmen als gewinnbringend erwies.

Produkte, Lösungen & Services

• Fides Multibanking Suite
• Hybrid Service Büro
• Reporting
• TMS Verbindung

Über Bucher Industries

Bucher nahm seinen Anfang im Jahr 1807 als Schmiede und ist mittlerweile ein weltweit tätiger Technologiekonzern für Maschinen- und Fahrzeugbau. Heute fertigt Bucher moderne Maschinen und Fahrzeuge in Produktionsstandorten auf der ganzen Welt. Der Hauptsitz des Unternehmens befindet sich in der Schweiz und es ist an der Schweizer Börse SIX kotiert. Im Jahr 2009 generierte Bucher mit rund 7200 Mitarbeitenden einen Umsatz von CHF 2,1 Mia.

Einleitung

Vor der Implementierung eines neuen Treasury Management System (TMS) verfügte Bucher über eine Kombination aus automatisierten und manuellen Prozessen für die Durchführung von Treasurybezogenen Aktivitäten und die Integration von Transaktionsdaten in das Buchungssystem des Unternehmens. Ausserdem hatten wir verschiedene Systeme und Berichte, welche die Grundlage unserer täglichen Cash-Position bildeten, anhand derer Handelsentscheidungen getroffen wurden. Diese mussten manuell und wiederholt abgeglichen werden, was arbeitsintensiv und fehleranfällig war, was wiederum unsere Handelsentscheidungen beeinträchtigte.

Ich hatte zuvor für Elopak gearbeitet, wo wir eine Treasury-Vision 2010 für das neue TMS von sehr erfolgreich implementiert hatten. Wir wollten das gleiche Mass an Effizienz und Automatisierung bei Bucher erreichen. Demzufolge entwickelten wir 2007 unsere Treasury-Vision 2010, deren Ziel eine hoch automatisierte und effiziente Abwicklung, einschliesslich Auswahl und Implementierung eines neuen TMS, war. Wir hatten zwei Ziele:

• Erstens die Erreichung eines vollständigen Straight-Through-Processing für das Cash Management

• Zweitens die Automatisierung der Erstellung von Buchungseinträgen für Treasury-Geschäfte (z. B. Devisengeschäfte, Transfers, Kredite, Einlagen, Zinsen, Bankgebühren, Devisengewinne/-verluste usw.) mit einer Schnittstelle zu unserem Hauptbuch-System (Abacus), damit wir uns jederzeit auf aktuelle Informationen verlassen können.

Umsetzung unserer Treasury Vision

Nachdem wir die interne Genehmigung und Unterstützung für das Projekt erhalten hatten, wählten wir nach Erwägung von zwei Alternativen IT2 als unser TMS aus. Wir stellten fest, dass das System kosteneffektiv war und ein wesentlicher Vorteil darin bestand, dass wir die Umsetzung modular durchführen konnten, wobei zuerst das Cash Management und dann das Rechnungswesen implementiert wurden. Die Implementierung wurde erfolgreich abgeschlossen, jedoch gab es einige Herausforderungen.

Die Bilanz-, GuV- und Buchungsregeln wurden anhand des bestehenden Hauptbuchs erstellt; wir mussten das jedoch bis zu einem gewissen Grad umgestalten, da wir keinen Zugriff auf den erforderlichen Detaillierungsgrad hatten. Wir dokumentierten die Buchungsregeln für alle Transaktionen, was sich sowohl für die Einrichtung des TMS als auch für Audit-Zwecke als hilfreich erwies. Nachdem die Buchungsregeln definiert und im System eingerichtet worden waren, begannen wir mit dem Testen. Nach einigen Monaten begannen wir mit der Erstellung der Schnittfläche, was länger als erwartet dauerte, und der Implementierung des relevanten Dateiformats. Anschliessend testeten wir das System und die Oberfläche noch einen weiteren Monat lang; das Go-Live erfolgte am 1. Januar 2009.

Projektergebnisse

Der Umfang der manuellen Verarbeitung wurde durch die Implementierung eines neuen Systems drastisch reduziert, wobei es einige Zeit dauerte, bis sich die Benutzer mit dem TMS und seinen Möglichkeiten vertraut gemacht hatten. Alle Treasury-relevanten Transaktionen werden automatisch im Abrechnungsmodul von IT2 anhand der von der Bank mittels MT940-Nachrichten über Fides erhaltenen Informationen und der mit täglichen Marktzinssätzen projizierten Positionen im System verbucht. Einträge werden täglich zu Abacus transferiert. Folglich können wir uns jetzt darauf verlassen, dass unser Buchungssystem aktuell ist, und wir können unseren Monatsabschluss am zweiten Tag nach dem Ende des Monats, oder bereits vorher, durchführen.

Wir können auch einzelne Buchungen aufschlüsseln, sodass volle Transparenz in Bezug auf die Daten gewährleistet ist.

Die durch die Erreichung eines vollständigen Straight-Through-Processing erzielte Effizienz ist angesichts eines jährlichen Volumens von rund 15’000 Transaktionen, die von unserem TMS zu unserem Buchungssystem transferiert werden, erheblich. Aus Cash-Management-Perspektive haben wir ausserdem erhebliche Verbesserungen bei unseren Prozessen und der Datenqualität erzielt. Banksalden des IT2- Abrechnungsmoduls werden mit denen des Cash- Management-Moduls und den von der Bank per E-Mail erhaltenen Auszügen abgestimmt, sodass wir über ein hohes Mass an Datenintegrität verfügen.

Unser Nutzen aus dem Straight-Through-Processing beschränkt sich nicht nur auf das Back-Office. Zusätzlich zu den Schnittstellen zu Fides für Bankkontoinformationen und zu unserem Buchungssystem für den Transfer von Buchungseinträgen haben wir auch eine Schnittstelle zum automatisierten Handelsportal 360T für im Markt durchgeführte Transaktionen und mit Misys für den Bestätigungsabgleich implementiert.

Infolge dieses Grossprojekts haben wir die Ziele unserer Treasury-Vision 2010 erreicht und eine erstklassige Treasury-Management-Infrastruktur implementiert, die nicht nur unsere heutigen Bedürfnisse, sondern auch die weiterentwickelten, zukünftigen Bedürfnisse erfüllt.

Mauro d'Ambros - Treasurer, Bucher Industries

Mauro d’Ambros has been Treasurer of Bucher Industries AG since 2007. Previously he was Assistant Treasurer of Elopak from 2001-2005, and then Assistant Manager Treasury and Risk Management at PricewaterhouseCoopers. He has a diploma in business administration and a Certificate of Advanced Studies Swiss Certified Treasurer.

 

Photography © www.cochlear.com

Informationen zu Fides

Fides ist Weltmarktführer für Multibank-Konnektivität, Zahlungen und Transaktionskommunikation. Als Marktführer seit mehr 100 Jahren setzt sich Fides dafür ein, Finanzgeschäfte für alle Organisationen so effizient, transparent und sicher wie möglich zu gestalten. Mehr als 3‘500 Kunden verlassen sich auf Fides für ein effizientes Cash- und Liquiditätsmanagement. Sie profitieren von der Anbindung an mehr als 13‘000 Banken und von umfassenden Workflow-, Reporting-, Konvertierungs-, Validierungs- und Sicherheitsdienstleistungen. Ganz gleich, ob Unternehmen über die sichere Fides Multibanking Suite zugreifen oder unsere nahtlose Integration mit ERP-, TMS- und anderen Backend-Systemen von Drittanbietern nutzen: Fides ist die einzige Plattform, die sie benötigen.

Fragen zu dieser Success Story?

Kontaktieren Sie uns

E-Mail
aGVsbG9AZmlkZXMuY2g=
Bevor Sie weiterlesen
Bitte geben Sie zur Anzeige Ihre E-Mail-Adresse ein. Nach Bestätigung wird der Inhalt sofort freigeschaltet.
Formular geschützt durch reCAPTCHA. Durch das Absenden akzeptieren Sie unsere Datenschutzrichtlinie.
Tipp: Durch aktivierte Cookie Funktion können Sie alle weiteren Inhalte ohne erneute Freischaltung abrufen.
Fragen zu diesem Artikel?
Kontaktieren Sie uns jetzt
E-Mail
aGVsbG9AZmlkZXMuY2g=

Mit unserem Newsletter informieren wir Sie periodisch über alles, was Ihr Treasury effizienter gestaltet. Jetzt abonnieren und auf dem Laufendem bleiben.

Bevor Sie weiterlesen
Bitte geben Sie zur Anzeige Ihre E-Mail-Adresse ein. Nach Bestätigung wird der Inhalt sofort freigeschaltet.
Formular geschützt durch reCAPTCHA. Durch das Absenden akzeptieren Sie unsere Datenschutzrichtlinie.
Tipp: Durch aktivierte Cookie Funktion können Sie alle weiteren Inhalte ohne erneute Freischaltung abrufen.
Fragen zu diesem Artikel?
Kontaktieren Sie uns jetzt
E-Mail
aGVsbG9AZmlkZXMuY2g=